Congratulations to the 2018 Disability Hall of Fame Inductees

November 10, 2018 Published by

On October 19th, Hogg, Shain and Scheck, attended the 2018 Canadian Disability Hall of Fame induction ceremony. Congratulations to this year’s inductees: James Kyte, retired National Hockey League defenceman, first legally deaf NHL player; Alvin Law, motivational speaker, thalidomide survivor born without arms; and the Rt. Hon. Brian Mulroney, former Canada’s Prime Minister dedicated to improving the lives of people with disabilities.

We were proud supporters of this amazing event recognizing outstanding achievers and accessibility leaders. Founded 25 years ago, it is remarkable to see the Disability Hall of Fame grow into a strong and devoted community shaping the lives of many people with disabilities in Canada.

The atmosphere during the ceremony was incredible with many dedicated individuals and leaders attended. We heard inspiring speeches, that made us laugh and brought tears to our eyes, but more importantly helped us believe that a huge progress has been made towards disability inclusiveness in the community.

Thank you to all of the valued supporters and attendees of this important celebration; and a special thank you to the Hon. Elizabeth Dowdeswell, the Hon. David Crombie and the Hon. Vim Kochhar for being the pioneers of this change.