HSS sponsors Dora Mavor Moore and The Writers Guild of Canada Screenwriting Awards

May 27, 2016 Published by

Hogg, Schain & Scheck are proud to be gold level supporters of The Writers Guild of Canada Screenwriting Awards, which were held May 2, 2016 at the Telus Centre’s Koerner Hall. HSS is also sponsoring the Dora Mavor Moore Awards, presented by the Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts. The Dora Awards will be held on June 27, 2016 at the Harbourfront Center in Toronto. HSS aims to recognize the achievements of Canadian screenwriters and the local theatre community in their accomplishments within Canada and Toronto, respectively .

The WGC Screenwriting  Awards gala marked the 20th year where the WGC honoured Canadian screenwriters and their work. There were roughly 150 scripts and 32 screenwriters nominated for awards. Nominations were given to scripts categorized in documentaries, feature films, TV comedies,TV dramas, teens and tweens and many more. The gala also marked the 25th anniversary of the WGC. It was hosted by Elvira Kurt and written by Ryan Belleville and stand-up comedian Jeremy Woodcock.

On  June 27, 2016, the TAPA will host the 37th Annual Dora Awards at the Harbourfront Centre in Toronto. The awards recognize outstanding achievements in Toronto theatre. Over 200 theatre, dance and opera productions will be honoured across 48 different categories and six major divisions. The divisions include general theatre, independent theatre, musical theatre, theatre for young audiences, dance and opera.

Through national and local award ceremonies, HSS strives to build on and recognize the efforts displayed by Canadians in the arts community.


For more information on the Dora Mavor Moore Awards:


For more information on The Writers Guild of Canada Screenwriting Awards: